The Department of Health and Social Care’s (DHSC) pharmacy lead has been recognised in the Queen’s new year honours list.

Jeannette Howe, head of pharmacy at the DHSC, was awarded an order of the British Empire (OBE) ‘for services to pharmacy’ in the new year honours list 2020, published on 27 December.

NHS chief executive Simon Stevens and Professor Dame Sally Davies, former chief medical officer from 2011-2019, were also among the senior NHS leaders named in the list.

Mr Stevens was knighted for services to health and the NHS in England and Professor Davies was recognised as dame grand cross of the order of the bath (GCB) for her services to public health and research.

Professor Philip Howard, consultant pharmacist at Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust and lately national project lead for antimicrobial resistance (AMR) at NHS Improvement, was awarded an OBE ‘for services to healthcare’.

Professor William Michael Mawhinney TD, former head of the Northern Ireland Department of Health’s Medicines Regulatory Group, was honoured with an MBE ‘for services to pharmacy, medicines regulation and public safety’.


 ‘Incredible achievements’


Health and Social Care Secretary Matt Hancock said: ‘It’s fantastic to see so many of our incredible NHS and social care staff recognised for their incredible achievements.

‘In particular, Professor Dame Sally Davies had an extraordinary impact during her time as chief medical officer, including her revolutionary efforts in the fight against AMR and leading the UK’s response to recent health emergencies. I’m delighted that her unfaltering determination to improve the nation’s health is being celebrated.’

He added: ‘I love the NHS and am immensely proud of the incredible work it does. I want to thank Simon Stevens for his excellent work over the last five years and congratulate him on being recognised for that.’