A part-owner of Hendra Pharmacy in Cornwall, Nick Kaye, has been announced as the new chair of the National Pharmacy Association (NPA).

Mr Kaye, who previously held the position of vice-chair, was elected as chair unopposed today at the first meeting of the new NPA board. He will replace the outgoing chair, Andrew Lane.

Also elected to the board was Jay Badenhorst, managing director and superintendent pharmacist for Whitworth Chemists in the North East of England, as vice-chair.

And Michael Guerin, managing director and superintendent pharmacist of the Medicare group in Northern Ireland, will continue as treasurer.

Mr Lane, who has served his maximum term as chair, will remain on the board for a further two years.

Mr Kaye said that as a third generation community pharmacist he felt ‘very privileged’ to serve the community pharmacy sector ‘that I love so dearly’.

He added: ‘Andrew will be a hard act to follow. But I can promise my unwavering commitment to independent community pharmacy, with Jay and Michael’s ’s support, plus that of board colleagues and our dedicated executive team.

‘The board will continue to pursue with vigour our mission to help independent pharmacies to thrive, professionally and commercially, ultimately benefitting the patients they serve.’

Mr Kaye recognised pharmacies were ‘under an unprecedented degree of pressure right now’ and said he wanted to ‘begin to restore hope of better times ahead’.

Meanwhile, Mr Badenhorst said he was ‘honoured’ to be serving as NPA vice-chair.

‘The fact that the sector in England faces the prospect of collapse makes me very conscious of my duty to give my all to the cause,’ he said.

The NPA has also elected Ian Cubbin and Olivier Picard as nominees to the Pharmaceutical Services Negotiating Committee (PSNC).

And Sukhi Basra, Sri Kanaparthy, Salim Jetha and Sanjay Ganvir have also joined the NPA board.