This site is intended for health professionals only

Home / News / RPS national boards: new chairs announced

RPS national boards: new chairs announced


By Isabel Shaw

22 Jun 2021

The RPS has announced Thorrun Govind, Cheryl Way and Andrew Carruthers as the new chairs of the English, Welsh and Scottish Pharmacy Boards respectively.

The three new chairs were elected to their positions in the RPS elections. Vice chairs and board representatives were also voted in.

On the English Pharmacy Board, new chair Ms Govind (pictured) is joined by new vice chair Martin Astbury, and representatives to the RPS Assembly Claire Anderson, Sibby Buckle, Tase Oputu and Alisdair Jones.

In Wales, Ruth Mitchell has been elected vice chair and representative to the Assembly, alongside new chair, Ms Way. Geraldine McCaffrey takes up the Board’s hospital pharmacy position.

The Scottish Pharmacy Board welcomes Kathleen Cowle as vice chair and Assembly representative, with Carruthers becoming chair.

Want news like this straight to your inbox?

Latest News

Plan B
Government must consider ‘sensible measures’ to protect pharmacy teams this winter, RPS says
The Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS) is calling on the Government to implement ‘sensible measures’ to...
antiviral drugs
Covid antiviral drugs could be prescribed to prevent hospital admission ‘this winter’
The Government has made deals for hundreds of thousands of doses of two new antiviral...
Chronic fatigue
NICE to publish chronic fatigue guideline after final meeting next week
NICE will publish its long-anticipated updated guideline for myalgic encephalomyelitis (or encephalopathy)/chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS)...